The last remaining vestige of ancient Bayou Metairie can be seen on the cover in this circa 1910 image from the Harry
D. Johnson Photograph Collection in the New Orleans Public Library. The Peristyle, built in 1907 as a dancing pavilion, and
the bayou still remain just steps away from City Park Avenue. In the past the bayou flowed from the Mississippi River at what
is now Kenner, through Metairie, and along what is now Metairie Road and Metairie Cemetery before terminating at Bayou St.
John. (Courtesy of the New Orleans Public Library.)
Above is a view of the now demolished Metairie
High School on Metairie Road which opened its doors to students in 1929.
This website contains excerpts along with some of the 200 photographs
in Metairie (Images of America) by Catherine Campanella. Use the links here to explore some of the Metairie's history -- or purchase the book
for a more in-depth view.
Other books by Catherine Campanella:
Excerpts from Lake Pontchartrain (Images of America)
A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this book is dedicated to the Lake Pontchartrain Basin Foundation's efforts to
rebuild the historic New Canal Lighthouse.
A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this book is dedicated to Friends of City Park.